Family Law Section

Family Law Section Logo

forgot your password?

FLS Executive

The role of the Executive is to further the interests and objectives of family law and family lawyers in Australia.

The Executive is also involved in many activities aimed at improving the standard of knowledge and professional service provided by legal practitioners in this difficult area of law.

The Executive promotes professional discussion and consultation, as well as preparing position papers and submissions on a range of matters affecting the family law jurisdiction. FLS has developed a reputation as a source of sound advice to those responsible for framing family law legislation and for determining policy and organising the administration of family law in Australia.

Members of the Executive sponsor and deliver value for money Continuing Legal Education on a national basis. This is considered important particularly given the history of the Government and the Courts making regular major changes to the areas of Family Law and Child Support.

The Executive meet on a regular basis with various Government and other agencies. These meetings are an important part of the Executive's work and provide an opportunity for FLS to have input into a wide range of matters which affect family law in Australia. Such agencies include:

The FLS Executive consists of:

The members of the FLS Executive are elected every two years by members of the FLS by postal ballot, with the poll being declared at the FLS AGM.

The FLS Executive has a Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Treasurer, elected by majority vote of the Section Executive.  The Executive is supported by a Director, an Administrator and Assistant Administrator (part-time).

The current members of the FLS Executive are listed below. Click on the member’s name for further biographical details.

Name Office Representing

Rick O'Brien

Chairman  Western Australia
Wendy Kayler-Thomson

Deputy Chair

Victorian Solicitors
Geoffrey Sinclair Immediate Past Chairman  
Michael Kearney SC Treasurer New South Wales Bar

Ian Kennedy AM

Australian Family Lawyer


Deborah Awyzio

Member Queensland Solicitors

Paul Doolan

Member New South Wales Solicitors

Denis Farrar

Member Australian Capital Territory

Cameron Dick

Member Queensland Bar

Greg Howe

Member South Australia

Kate Mooney


Minal Vohra

Member Victorian Bar

Contact Us | Sitemap | Privacy | Make us your homepage

© 2010 Family Law Section. All Rights Reserved.

© 2010 Family Law Section. All Rights Reserved.